eToday was a great day for writing.

I updated my knitting blog (writeknit) with my project progress, wrote a book review for Chesapeake Crimes, This Job is Murder and now this. Some days are easier to write than others,

My latest picture book manuscript, Eli’s Spots in safely in the hands of my crit group. I’ve already received great feed back from them.

What are your feelings about crit groups? Personally, I feel then strengthen my writing. I don’t have a local group, but online has been a great resource for me.

I found lots of information, and wanted to share part of the article at this site: http://www.the-writers-craft.com/writing-critique-groups.html

Choosing the Right Group

 

While the right critique group can advance your writing in giant leaps, the wrong group can severely damage your tender confidence.

So how do you choose a group?

There are a number of questions you can ask before you begin. Assess your comfort with the answers before committing to join.

If it is a face-to-face group, how often do they meet? How long are meetings? How are critiques handled at meetings?

N/A for me

Do you submit manuscripts ahead of time so that the other members have a chance to review them at their leisure? Or do you only critique what is read/heard during the meeting?

We don’t actually meet – only emails 🙂 Our schedule is to submit once a month, then crit the other member’s reviews with weeks we don’t submit.

How many people are in the group? Are they beginners, experienced or both?

There are 5 members of my group. Most of them have published children’s books and stories in magazines. Personally, I have not been published in this genre, but hope to say I am by the end of this year.

Does everyone critique all submissions? How long do you have to critique a submission and how many per week are you required to critique?

Yes, a week, one

How often are you required to submit something and what word length is expected?

Once every 5 weeks. It can be a whole picture book, a chapter or 2 from an early reader, a magazine article or story or a query letter.

Sounds simple, but I think I was just lucky to find my group.

 

 

