I wonder how authors promoted books to the masses just a few short years ago? Understandably there were wonderful publishers and publicists that put authors and books in the news with reviews, interviews and advertisements. I can’t imagine how hard it was for authors just starting out to be heard, let alone read by more than a few people.

Now it is so much easier to get your name out. Last week the anthology with my short story in it went live. The publisher is awesome – Yea Untreed Reads Publishing!!! – J. Alan Hartman (no relation!) is really putting it out there. Look for it online at the Untreed Reads Store, Amazon in six countries, Barnes and Nobles, and Apple’s iBook Store.

I will TOTALLY understand of you stop reading this blog right to check it out: The Killer Wore Cranberry: A Second Helping (my story is Perfect Pumpkin Pie – but all of them are really, really good).  http://store.untreedreads.com/

Welcome back.

Now a days, they have a whole big bunch of newfangled ways to promote your books. Of course you know about blogs if you are reading this. It is a great way to get the word out to people you don’t know (yet) and who don’t know about you as an author (yet). And after writing and publishing a blog entry,you can tweet it and post it on Facebook.

I’ve just spent the last hour before writing this on Twitter. Reading, making new connections, tweeting back new followers. It is very cool to talk to people instantly via social media sites. And sometimes creepy, but I’m not going there in this post. I’ve found in the twitter world you get many more followers if you follow, so go forth and follow. You’ll read some interesting short thoughts. I’m @lh171

My Facebook page is mostly personal posts. If you looked at my history, you can see life during Farmville and life after Farmville. It was taking up way too much of my time so I had to let the crops go. No more bazillon posts of “please help me finish this quest”, etc. I have to admit I do still play Words with Friends and have been known to play Bejeweled Blitz, but who doesn’t? 🙂 But now I’m adding book info for anyone that may need to know.

Back to publicizing my story. I am on GoodReads, you can find me at http://www.goodreads.com/LauraMHartmann. I am a huge fan of GoodReads. Great way to find new authors, read reviews and sign up to win free books.

Last but not least, I have an author page on Amazon. I’m at https://www.amazon.com/author/hartmanlaura. Stop by and learn a bit about me. Make a comment, Like me if you like.

Wow, all of this talking about me is exhausting. I’m more of a “write about anything other than me” kind of gal. But, the book is great, and so are the authors, and they all deserve any extra promotion I can get out there.

Thanks for hanging in to the end. If you haven’t done so already, go out and see all about me and The Killer Wore Cranberry: A Second Helping.

How do you promote your work? Let me know!

