What a week! It was busy, busy, busy in all aspects.

Work is crazy due to the corporate move we are in the middle of. The data center has been successfully moved, the warehouse has moved and is up and running. The office workers will move in 4 waves, the first was last Friday.

I took off Friday for a very good reason. My husband is retiring after 36 years on the job and they were throwing a surprise retirement party for him. Our two sons that live here as well as my local daughter-in-law all took off work. Our son and daughter-in-law from Maryland took off work and flew in to double surprise him. It was fabulous. The guys told heartfelt stories about him and shared reasons why they are going to miss him.

While they miss him, we get him back 🙂 For the last 36 years, and especially for the last 13 our lives have been ruled by the weather. If it looked like snow, snow was predicted or rain and high winds were predicted, we had to stay home. No play tickets or concert tickets were purchased from October to April. We had to stay in town even when he wasn’t on call, because he really had to go in either way.

Don’t get me wrong, he made a good living, we are very thankful for the job and his dedication. But now he has time for things we haven’t done in a while. Like a winter vacation. Maybe a weekend someplace warm just because we can.

It is a major life change, but a good life change. I still have to work because unlike him I don’t have a great retirement plan. Way back when he started at 19, he paid into his retirement fund from the very first paycheck. We didn’t have much money then, and he wouldn’t have been inclined to put the much needed money in his retirement account. But we made it. Some weeks were dicey, but here we are 36 years later.

Even though I am still going to be working 40 hours a week, I am also going on partial retirement. Until the hubby decides what he wants to do when he grows up, he said he is going to clean, do the laundry and cook so we can have our evenings and weekends free. I asked about grocery shopping – he said yes. I am ecstatic. Now we can take drives to see and do things that we didn’t have time to do. We love going into Chicago to the museums and zoos. I will have the best of both worlds.


Life may be changing, but for the better for both of us. I am looking forward to our new chapter.

