World Book Night is amazing. Anyone that loves books should check out the website http://www.us.worldbooknight.org/ to see how you can participate next year. By “spreading the love of reading from person to person” this organization encourages reading in an up close and personal way.

Look Again_World Book Night

This year I gave out Lisa Scottline’s Look Again.  (http://scottoline.com/) I reviewed it yesterday, so check out that post if you are unfamiliar with it. One of the first people I gave a copy to, flipped it open and her eyes teared up. She said, “Oh my God – this almost happened to me! My daughter’s birth mother had her for a supervised visit and took off with her. With the help of the police, they found her within 3 hours.”

I was speechless. She went on to say she couldn’t wait to read it.

The next person I gave it to doesn’t usually read this genre, but was excited to branch out and give it a try.

I gave a copy to our security guard, even thought the book seemed more for women readers to me. Later was pleasantly surprised to go by his desk and have him tell me he started reading it and really liked it (great writing transcends age, gender and ethnicity). I snapped a quick pic of him enjoying it.

Andy_World Book Night

A HUGE thank you to all of the authors, publishers, pick up locations and book givers. I cannot tell you how good it feels to hand out brand new books and see the surprise and delight on the face of the recipients.

Happy Reading!

